Tusla - Ireland's Child & Family Agency

Tusla – Child and Family Agency welcomes appointment of four new Board members

Tusla – Child and Family Agency welcomes the announcement on Friday 16th December by the Minister for Children and Youth Affairs, Katherine Zappone, of four new appointments to the Board of Tusla. The four individuals who have been appointed to the Board with effect from 1st January 2017 are:

  • Professor Áine Hyland
  • Ms Deirdre Kiely
  • Mr Pat McLoughlin
  • Mr Tony Rodgers

Mr Rory O’ Ferrall has also been reappointed to serve a second term on the Board.

Speaking today, Tusla Chairperson, Norah Gibbons, said “I’m delighted to welcome Professor Áine Hyland, Deirdre Kiely, Pat McLoughlin and Tony Rodgers to the Board of Tusla. I have no doubt that with their broad range of knowledge and experience they will make a huge contribution to the work of the Board and I look forward to working closely with them in the months and years to come.

“I would also like to take this opportunity to welcome the reappointment of Rory O’ Ferrrall for a second term and to thank our out-going Board members Emer Egan, Sylda Langford and Noelle Spring for their tireless work on the Board and commitment to the Agency,” she continued.


About the Board of Tusla

Information about the current Board of Tusla is available  here

The following individuals have been appointed to the Board with effect from 1st January 2017:

  • Professor Áine Hyland is Emeritus Professor of Education and former Vice-President of University College Cork. She chaired the statutory Educational Disadvantage Committee from 2002 to 2005 and the National Economic and Social Forum’s Committee on Literacy and Social Inclusion in 2009.  She has been a member of various national education boards and committees and has published books and articles on the history of Irish education, educational policy, educational disadvantage and curriculum and assessment.
  • Ms Deirdre Kiely is a professional accountant, a qualified barrister and an accredited mediator. Ms Kiely has over 10 years’ experience as a board member of organisations. She served as a board member of Barnardos from 2006 to 2012 and was chairperson of its audit committee.
  • Mr Pat McLoughlin has extensive experience in the public sector having spent 17 years in senior management roles including Deputy Chief Executive and National Director of Hospitals, HSE; Director of Planning and Commissioning, Eastern Regional Health Authority; Chief Executive, South Eastern Health Board; and Chief Executive, Eastern Health Board. He is currently the Chief Executive of the Alzheimer’s Society of Ireland.
  • Mr Tony Rodgers is a qualified social worker and has worked in statutory social services for 35 years as a practitioner, manager and commissioner.  He worked as Assistant Director of Social Care and Children with the Health and Social Care Board in Northern Ireland where he was lead Commissioner of Children's Services and involved in performance management of the Health and Social Care Trusts. 
WEBSITE BY CREATIVE INC & Kooba Web Design Dublin